My First Pair of Custom-Made Havaianas

Make Your Own Havaianas 2014

I only found out last weekend about this yearly Make Your Own Havaianas event where you get to have a hand in designing your pair (or pairs) of Havaianas.

Although I usually wouldn’t care for a new pair of flip-flops (as they are now fancily called), the idea of having it custom-made sounded fun. So I went with my sister and her family to catch the last few hours of Make Your Own Havaianas 2014 exhibit at the activity center of Glorietta Mall in Makati.

Make Your Own Havaianas 2014

Make Your Own Havaianas 2014

Some of the colors, straps and pins you can choose from

The only way for me to not feel guilty about spending more than a thousand pesos for a pair of rubber slippers is by getting something in a design or color that is limited edition. It was easy for me to choose the MYOH2014 commemorative pair.

Choosing the pins was the tough one. I originally wanted the Brazilian flag and the I [heart] Rio pins, but since it was the last day of the exhibit and it was near closing time, they already run out of stocks. I had to settle for the football pins. At least they got some Brazil vibe going.

Make Your Own Havaianas 2014 Commemorative Pair

My MYOH2014 Commemorative Pair

The MYOH2014 commemorative pair came with Bonfim Wish Ribbons or Fitas do Senhor do Bonfim da Bahia.

These colored ribbons, which is believed to bring good luck to the wearer, have been in existence for many, many years. It originated from the church of Our Lord of the Good End (a Igreja de Nosso Senhor do Bonfim) in 1792.

You tie three knots with the ribbons and make a wish for each knot. They say that when the ribbons fall off or wear out, your wishes come true!

Bonfim Wish Ribbons (Fitas do Senhor do Bonfim da Bahia) at Make Your Own Havaianas 2014

Bonfim Wish Ribbons (Fitas do Senhor do Bonfim da Bahia)

Leave a comment